Destination briefing
Why travelers stop here
Gigangseowon is a Confucian academy established by Confucian scholars and descendants to commemorate the achievements of General Lee Un-yong (1562–1610), who served as the Naval Commander of the Three Provinces during the Imjin War. The general's tomb was originally buried in Beopgwisan Mountain, Cheongdo-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do, his hometown, but was moved to San 30-1, Ocheon-ri, Jijeong-myeon, Uiryeong-gun in the 8th year of King Injo's reign (1630) by his eldest son, Lee Eom (Pyeongtaek County Magistrate). Accordingly, Confucian scholars in the Gyeongnam region agreed to build a Confucian academy in front of the general's tomb, collected funds, and in April 1950 erected a monument for Lee Un-yong in front of Chungnyeolsa, the shrine of Admiral Yi Sun-sin in Tongyeong. The construction of the academy was delayed due to the Korean War, but in 1959, descendants Bang Hu-son and Lee Gi-hwan consulted with Confucian scholars, formed the Sikseonggun Relic Preservation Society, and began the construction of Gigangseowon. At that time, the government, including President Yun Bo-seon, National Assembly Speaker Baek Nak-jun, Prime Minister Chang Myon, and House of Representatives Speaker Kwak Sang-hoon, along with other prominent figures, provided nationwide donations, and under the leadership of Gyeongnam Governor Lee Jung-heon and Superintendent of Education Lee Yun-geun, smooth financial support was provided, leading to the completion of the academy.
OTA-ready stop
Built into inbound routes and day-tour planning.
Local context
경상남도 의령군 지정면 오천리
Travel fit
Attraction · Gyeongsangnam-do
